Tue. Nov 12th, 2019

Justin Trudeau to Shuffle Cabinet

Spread the love

For the 3rd time in three months Prime Minister Justin Trudeau will make changes to his cabinet today being Monday. The today’s cabinet shuffle is to fill the vacancy created by the sudden resignation of Treasury Board president, Jane Philpott. Jane Philpott resignation came as a result of the SNC-LAVALIN scandal that led to the resignation of her close friend Jody Wilson-Raybould from the Liberal Government.

Sources close to the Government said it would be a small shuffle to fill the space left by Philpott.

Joyce Murray, the Vancouver MP is currently seen as a possible option to replace Philpott. Murray who is a former provincial cabinet minister has been parliamentary secretary to the Treasury Board president for several years.

Remember Philpott resigned from cabinet at the beginning of the month, saying she had lost confidence in how the Justin Trudeau’s government has responded to the SNC-Lavalin scandal, with the former attorney general and justice minister Jody Wilson-Raybould alleging that she was pressured inappropriately to help the Quebec company secure a special legal agreement over charges of bribery and fraud.

This will be the third cabinet shuffle in three months following the resignation of former Treasury Board president Scott Brison, then Wilson-Raybould from her new posting at veterans affairs, then Philpott. Brison has retired from federal politics, and the two women have expressed their intention to stay in the Liberal caucus despite leaving Trudeau’s top team.

Sources have quoted Carla Qualtrough as one option for replacing Philpott, the minister of Public Services and Procurement, who temporarily assumed Treasury Board responsibilities after her colleague’s resignation could be appointed to her new role as early as today.

Justin Trudeau has faced increased pressure of late on the SNC-LAVALIN scandal, an affair which could greatly affect this year’s elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *